Search

ICC commission report: Witness and expert evidence

Guest Speaker
Event Details
Date & Time
25 August 2021 17:00 - 19:00 SGT
Location

Virtual

Book Now

Wednesday, 25 August 2021, online

5pm-7pm SGT / 2.30pm-4.30pm IST
11am-1pm CEST / 10am-12pm BST

Construction industry arbitration: Recommended tools and techniques for effective management

This seminar features a diverse and stellar panel of speakers and will address best practices in the management of factual witness and expert evidence, in the context of the 2019 Update.

For more than two decades, the ICC’s think tank and rule making body, the Commission on Arbitration and ADR, has been giving special attention to best practice in the management of construction industry arbitrations under the auspices of the ICC Rules of Arbitration.

The ICC Commission Report, Construction Industry Arbitrations Recommended Tools and Techniques for Effective Management is a 2019 update of the first edition of the Final Report on Construction Industry Arbitrations published in 2001, reflecting both the various modifications made by the ICC Rules of Arbitration (as revised in 2017) and developments in the practice of arbitration in construction disputes. Thus it gives contemporary guidance on a range of tools and techniques for use in successfully managing construction arbitrations in the present day.

The seminar series provides a review of the techniques and tools flowing from the 2019 Report, as currently practiced in well managed international construction arbitrations, sharing experiences from the perspective of counsel, arbitrators and the ICC Court of Arbitration as to what works, when and how. The series comprises the following six parts:

Part 1 – Introduction to the 2019 Report – commencement and tribunal formation
Part 2 – Identifying and resolving issues in dispute
Part 3 – Managing the arbitral process
Part 4 – Document control
Part 5 – Witness and expert evidence
Part 6 – Party settlement

Agenda

17:00: Introduction
17:05: ICC’s perspective
17:25: Arbitrator’s perspective
17:45: Counsel’s perspective
18:05: Hot tub panel discussion
18:45: Closing remarks
18:50: Q&A
19:00: Close

Chair

Nicholas Brown
Partner
Pinsent Masons

Guest speaker

Gerry Brannigan
Partner
HKA

Other panellists

  • Frédéric Gillion, Partner, Pinsent Masons
  • Professor Douglas Jones AO, Chartered Arbitrator and International Judge at Singapore International Commercial Court
  • Hazel Tang, Counsel, ICC International Court of Arbitration
  • Don Harvey, Managing Director, Secretariat
  • Michael Stokes, Senior Managing Director, Ankura
  • Joanne Prior, Managing Director, Kroll
  • James Taylor, Senior Managing Director, FTI Consulting

Should you have any questions please contact CrystalLim@hka.com.

Event Details
Date & Time
25 August 2021 17:00 - 19:00 SGT
Venue

Virtual

Book Now